Dennis Ellsworth ‘Made for You’ : ‘I dream about you so often, I don’t even mention it now.’

Dennis Ellsworth

Dennis Ellsworth from Charlottetown, PEI (Canada), shares ‘Made for You’, a tender song co-written with Donnovan Woods. The track hails from EP ‘Common Senselessness’, a five song companion project to Ellsworth’s critically praised 2019 album ‘Common Senseless’.

Said Donnovan: “I went to Charlottetown a week before a music festival to participate in a writing camp with some local kids. I was instead paired with Dennis who had released albums, had a publishing deal and was already a hugely competent and committed songwriter. I remember feeling jealous that Dan Mangan got a bunch of kids that he could bestow his wisdom upon and I got a guy who was probably better than me.”

“I remember a news crew watched us write this song, and then I actually saw it on the news,” added Donnovan. “I can’t remember what we were writing about but I’ve always loved the first line: ‘I dream about you so often, I don’t even mention it now.’ I think about that line all the time because I think it’s a really good first line. It’s capacious. It could go anywhere, but you definitely know what it’s about. A true gem of Canadian songwriting, I’m honoured to officially be involved with one of his records.”

Dennis began writing songs in high school, bridging a variety of styles from folk, to rock n’ roll, to chill electro-pop. Over the years he has moved around, spending time in Edmonton, AB and living in Toronto, ON for six and a half years. He is now based in his hometown, with ten albums to his name since 2009. His resume includes collaboration with Josh Finlayson and Andy Maize of Skydiggers, Gord Downie of The Tragically Hip, Joel Plaskett, and David Barbe of Sugar and foremost producer of the Athens, GA based group, Drive-by Truckers.

The members include, songwriter Dennis on guitar and vocals, Dan Currie on guitar and vocals, Michael Montigny on bass, Roger Carter on keys/organs, and Mike Carver on drums.

The group was formed in 2017 as a response to the need for a band to perform the music from Dennis’ Things Change record, produced by Joel Plaskett.

View this post on Instagram

The new EP is out there! I hope everyone enjoys it. This music represents the rest of the material we recorded during the Common Senseless sessions. I feel like this is a great way to celebrate that period. It was one of great creative freedom and growth for me. . I could not have done any of this without the help of Adam Gallant at The Hill Sound Studio in Charlottetown, my publisher, Vince Degiorgio at CYMBA Music Publishing, my manager, Christine Dubé at Cool Cats Agency, and Sarah and Brendan at The Syrup Factory. I want to thank all of them, Roger Carter, JD Hughes, John Smith, Donovan Woods, Joel Plaskett, Alan Dowling, Katie McGarry, Dan Currie, Mike Carver, and Mike Montigny. All of these folks are in my corner and I love them all very much. . Happy release day! Go have a listen, share, buy it…whatevs: . Peace and love! D~M~E . #newmusic #commonsenselessness #songwriter #princeedwardisland #ep #canadian #eastcoast

A post shared by Dennis Ellsworth (@dennis_ellsworth) on


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *





Myo ‘Years’ : Hardest hitting glimpses of alt-prominence. Another level. Another dimension.

CAB 3 ‘Doin’ it 4 Time’ : Soundtrack of science fiction meeting the urban world.