in , , ,

Sarah Louise announces Thrill Jockey debut ‘Deeper Woods’. Drops May 11th.

Captivatingly voiced songstress Sarah Louis will soon be releasing her debut Thrill Jockey LP ‘Deeper Woods’ on May 11th.

Oh yea. Heck yea. =D

“Lauded for her work as an accomplished 12-string solo guitarist, Deeper Woods is her first album to prominently feature her voice. Louise enriches her warm singular vocal sound with a lush variety of instruments as well as layers of harmonies that together create a tapestry of texture. Incorporating both traditional and modern methods of composition, Deeper Woods is a reflection on the struggle between peaceful isolation and the need for community. By reframing traditional music styles and lyricism with a feminist stance, Deeper Woods blends the spiritual with the cerebral.”

Deeper Woods features performances by Louise’s House and Land bandmate Sally Anne Morgan, as well as frequent collaborator Thom Nguyen, and Jason Meagher (Black Dirt Studios), who also mixed the album. The majority of the album was produced and engineered by Louise at her home studio in the forests of North Carolina.

“The compositions of Deeper Woods are Louise’s most ambitious to date. Initially taking shape as a capella pieces, she began superimposing her vocal melodies over solo guitar pieces, meticulously reforming phrases until they fit. The hazy waves of distortion on “When Winter Turns” is propelled by drummer and frequent collaborator Thom Ngyuen accompanied by the nimble bass of Jason Meagher (Black Dirt Studios).”

Congrats to both parties, Sarah & the folks at Thrill Jockey.

Buy Album [HERE]


Sarah Louise – Deeper Woods

1. Bowman’s Root
2. When Winter Turns
3. The Field That Touches My House And Yours
4. Pipevine Swallowtails
5. Up On The Ridge
6. On Nights When I Can’t Sleep
7. Fire Pink And Milkweed


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *





Mount Kimbie Share Previously Unreleased ‘Turtle Neck Man’ Feat. King Krule. N.A. Tour Announced.

Aish shares ‘Orcas’ from the upcoming album ‘Mother’ (March 30th)