The Messthetics shares ‘Serpent Tongue’ (New Single)

The Messthetics is a project made up of Brendan Canty (drums), Joe Lally (bass), and Anthony Pirog (guitar). All veterans of the music business, Brendan Canty and Joe Lally were the rhythm section of the band Fugazi from its inception in 1987 to its period of hiatus in 2002. However, The Messthetics is the first band they’d held hands on since the early 2000’s. Anthony Pirog (another veteran) is a jazz and experimental guitarist based in Washington, D.C. and is one half of the duo Janel & Anthony.

“It’s a snapshot of a band dedicated to the live ideal, where structure gives birth to improvisation.”

So, here we are and 2018 is upon the living on Earth. And in Spring, this newly set trio band seeks to release their first album together. What a re-birth.

“The initial concept was to mix noise/improv guitar with dance grooves – a kind of apocalyptic dance party where the beat keeps you moving, but the guitarist relentlessly terrorizes you. The first track, “Mythomania” retains elements of that posture, but as reality has itself become more daunting, Anthony – a fearless guitarist – has moved closer to his listeners, and is now willing to astonish without being so confrontational about it. That doesn’t mean the Messthetics in any way retreat from the responsibilities of a “hard” sound, just that its volume and edge never eat the bold structural ideas that define this new music. Anthony will even lubricate his tricky time signatures with energetic two-note riffs to keep the listener head-bobbing through the twisting structures. And when their collective voice is thick and heavy (like on “Crowds and Power”), it is neither ponderous nor plodding. Their performances and this debut recording have a lift and buoyancy that reflect back into the audience the love and gratitude at the foundation of this trio’s journey.” – The Messthetics.

It’s an interesting challenge, but we’re sure it was a satisfying process for the group.

The debut album will include 9 songs, instrumentals. Wait and see.

Cool stuff.

Order the album [HERE]

The band is rep’ed by Dischord Records, out of Washington D.C.

Track List:

  1. Mythomania
  2. Serpent Tongue
  3. Once Upon a Time
  4. Quantum Path
  5. Your Own World
  6. The Inner Ocean
  7. Radiation Fog
  8. Crowds and Power
  9. The Weaver


  • 4.05.18 – Raleigh, NC @ King’s Barcade
  • 4.06.18 – Atlanta, GA @ 529
  • 4.07.18 – Athens, GA @ Caledonia Lounge
  • 4.08.18 – Birmingham, AL @ Saturn
  • 4.19.18 – Hamden, CT @ Space
  • 4.20.18 – Brooklyn, NY @ Bell House
  • 5.3.18 – Cleveland, OH @ Survival Knife
  • 5.4.18 – Detroit, MI @ Planet Art Theat
  • 5.5.18 – Chicago, IL @ The Hideout


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *





Soccer Mommy shares ‘Cool’ (Official Audio Single Debut)

February 1st: Stuyedeyed / Native Sun / DJ’ed by The Nude Party (Brooklyn)